Confucius Classroom

Confucius Classrooms: Integrated Chinese Study

The designation of a Confucius Classroom is given, upon application, to a school which teaches Chinese language. The Confucius Classroom is also partnered with a twin school in Shandong Province (the Chinese partner for the CIE).  The CIE supports currently 20 Confucius Classrooms.

The Confucius Institute in Edmonton provides supports for all of its associated Confucius Classrooms including:

  • Specialized professional development for Chinese teaching staff
  • Provision of new resources to support Chinese language instruction
  • Twinning with a partner school in Shandong Province
  • Support for joint projects between the school and its partner
  • Support for HSK language assessment
  • Staff access to scholarship study in China
  • Student access to scholarships for summer study in China

Confucius Classrooms Supported by the Confucius Institute in Edmonton

学校

( Xuéxiào – School )

Elementary Schools

Caernarvon
Principal: David Kowalchuk
caernarvon@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Tai’an City Experimental School

Dovercourt
Principal: Leanne Moncrieff
Chinese Contact: Shu Yun Yang
dovercourt@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Qufu Chunqiu Primary School

Kildare
Principal: Cheryl Belyea
Chinese Contact: Dr. Wenqi Chen
kildare@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Shandong Experimental Primary School

Meadowlark
Principal: Heather Langenhahn
Chinese Contact: Jei Yin
meadowlark@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Shouguang New Century Primary School

Meyonohk
Principal: Karen Patterson
Chinese Contact: Max Liu
meyonohk@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Dongfang Experimental Bilingual School of Jinan

Parkallen
Principal: Rick Gingras
Chinese Contact: Amy Wang
parkallen@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Jiaozhou Zhenhua Elementary School

Walter and Gladys Hill Public School
Principal: Annalee Nutter
Chinese Contact: Jitao Deng
Chinese Partner: Tai’an Normal School Affiliated Elementary School

 

Junior High Schools

Edith Rogers
Principal: Tim Boan
Chinese Contact: Long Mu
edithrogers@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Binzhou Experimental School

Hillcrest
Principal: Fred Fonseca
Chinese Contact: David Zhang
hillcrest@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Middle School of Tai Shan College

Londonderry
Principal: Cameron Mah
Chinese Contact: Sandra Sun-Ritson
londonderry@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Experimental Junior High School of Qingdao Economic and Technological Development Zone

Ottewell
Principal: Mike Morrison
Chinese Contact: Dr. Mian Xie
ottewell@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Affiliated Middle School of Jining Institute

Parkview
Principal: Joanne Aldridge
Chinese Contact: Chun Zhao
parkview@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Jinan Foreign Language School

Rosslyn
Principal: Tammy Tchir
Chinese Contact: Jian Qin
rosslyn@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Qingdao Yucai Middle School

 

High Schools

Lillian Osborne
Principal: Janet Hancock
Chinese Contact: Xuping Gao
lillianosborne@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Taishan Foreign Language School

McNally
Principal: Dr. Lisa Wright
Chinese Contact: Kathy Gu
mcnally@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Yantai No. 2 Middle School

M.E. LaZerte
Principal: Kim Backs
Chinese Contact: Ji Xu
melazerte@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Qingdao No. 2 High School

Ross Sheppard
Principal: Rick Paulitsch
Chinese Contact: Jenny Li-Mitra
rsheppard@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Shandong Experimental High School

Queen Elizabeth
Principal: Sue Bell
Chinese Contact: Tiffany Choi
queene@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Weifeng No. 1 Middle School

Centre High Campus
Principal: Dean Michailides
Chinese Contact: Karen Chung
centrehigh@epsb.ca
Chinese Partner: Jiaozhou  No. 1 Middle School

École La Vérendrye (k-12)
Principal: Sandrine Coronat
Chinese Contact: Morgan Guo
elv@csud.ca
Chinese Partner: Linyi University Affiliated Middle School