Chinese Language Credentials

The Confucius Institute in Edmonton is a centre for the administration of internationally recognized testing, providing formal credentialing in Chinese language. These tests are administered in the spring and fall in three categories: HSK, BCT, YCT.

The CIE will offer the 2019 Spring HSK Test on Saturday, May 11, 2019Please contact us at (780) 970-5233 for registration or register directly at





( Kǎoshì – Tests )

The HSK Standard Proficiency Test (Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi Test)

Certify your knowledge of Chinese language with the HSK test, China’s only standard Chinese language proficiency exam for non-native speakers. Six proficiency Levels: Levels 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.

read more

The Business Chinese Test (BCT)

This certification tells companies at home and abroad that you have the ability to connect with communities and businesses across the globe. Three proficiency levels: Levels 1, 2 and 3.

more information

The Youth Chinese Test (YCT)

Designed for younger students of the Chinese language (under the age of 15), use this test may be used as a marker on your journey to becoming fully fluent in Mandarin.

read more