About Us

About the Confucius Institute in Edmonton

Made possible by funding through Hanban and the Government of the People’s Republic of China, the Confucius Institute in Edmonton (CIE) is a non-profit organization dedicated to strengthening the educational, cultural and economic ties between China and Canada. Part of a global network of institutes located in 113 countries around the world throughout Asia, North and South America, Europe, Africa and Australasia, the CIE has been promoting Chinese culture and education in Alberta since 2007, and was recognized as Confucius Institute of the Year in 2011, 2013 and 2018.

The CIE was placed in Edmonton in partnership with its host, Edmonton Public Schools, as a result of EPSB’s international reputation in Chinese language education. The strong partnership with the Edmonton Public School Board has allowed CIE to grow and also serve not only Edmonton Public Schools, but many agencies in the community and other schools and post secondary institutions across the region.

关于

( Guānyú – About )

History

Named for the renowned Chinese philosopher, Confucius of the Spring and Autumn Period of Chinese history (c 550 BC), the first Confucius Institute was established in Seoul, South Korea in 2004. Hundreds of institutes have been opened around the world to help promote study of the Chinese language and culture, as well as establish strong economic and cultural bonds between the countries of the world and the People’s Republic of China.

Vision

To promote the development of Chinese language education, cultural exchange and economic ties through greater understanding and connection between the people of China and the people of Canada.

Administration

Chair of Board of Directors
Dr. Lorne Parker
780-429-8426
lorne.parker@epsb.ca

President of Board of Directors
Darrell Robertson
780-429-8010
Darrell.robertson@epsb.ca

Director
Dr. Wei Li
780-686-9570
wei.li@epsb.ca

Chinese Director
Jinjun Wang
780-429-8186
jinjun.wang@confuciusedmonton.ca

Cultural Coordinator
Dr. Mianmian Xie
780-466-7331
mianmian.xie@confuciusedmonton.ca

Administrative Assistant
Brenda Chan
780-970-5233
brenda.chan@confuciusedmonton.ca

Librarian
Dr. Man Luo
780-970-5233
man.luo@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Xuepei Xu (Chelsea)
780-970-5234
xuepei.xu@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Xiangfei Liu (Frank)
780-970-5234
xiangfei.liu@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Zhiguang Hu (Hunter)
780-970-5234
zhiguang.hu@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Xiaolan Jia (Eva)
780-970-5234
xiaolan.jia@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Jie Chen (Betty)
780-970-5234
jie.chen@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Ying Xu (Nicky)
780-970-5234
ying.xu@confuciusedmonton.ca

Chinese Teacher
Joanna Chang
780-970-5233