About Us

About the Confucius Institute in Edmonton

Made possible by funding through Hanban and the Government of the People’s Republic of China, The Confucius Institute in Edmonton (CIE) is a non-profit organization dedicated to strengthening the educational, cultural and economic ties between China and Canada. Part of a global network of institutes located in 113 countries around the world throughout Asia, North and South America, Europe, Africa and Australasia, the CIE has been promoting Chinese culture and education in Alberta since 2007, and was recognized as Institute of the Year in 2011 and 2013.

The CIE was placed in Edmonton in partnership with its host, Edmonton Public Schools, as a result of EPSB’s international reputation in Chinese language education.  The strong partnership with the Edmonton Public School Board has allowed CIE to grow and also serve not only Edmonton Public Schools, but many agencies in the community and other schools and post secondary institutions across the region.

关于

( Guānyú – About )

History

Named for the renowned Chinese philosopher, Confucius of the Spring and Autumn Period of Chinese history (c 550 BC), the first Confucius Institute was established in Seoul, South Korea in 2004. Hundreds of institutes have been opened around the world to help promote study of the Chinese language and culture, as well as establish strong economic and cultural bonds between the countries of the world and the People’s Republic of China.

Vision

To promote the development of Chinese language education, cultural exchange and economic ties through greater understanding and connection between the people of China and the people of Canada.

Administration

Chair of Board of Directors & Advisory Board
Stuart Wachowicz
780-920-1877
stuart.wachowicz@confuciusedmonton.ca

President
Darrell Robertson
780-429-8010
Darrell.robertson@epsb.ca

Director
Dr. Wei Li
780-686-9570
wei.li@confuciusedmonton.ca

Cultural Coordinator
Dr. Mianmian Xie
780-466-7331
mianmian.xie@confuciusedmonton.ca

Librarian
Dr. Man Luo
780-970-5233
man.luo@confuciusedmonton.ca

Administrative Assistant
Brenda Chan
780-970-5233
brenda.chan@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Zhiguang Hu (Hunter)
780-970-5234
zhiguang.hu@confuciusedmonton.ca

 

Visiting Teacher
Zhiyu Liu (Rita)
780-970-5234
zhiyu.liu@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Xiao Zhou (Zoya)
780-970-5234
xiao.zhou@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Tianjie Jing (Jetty)
780-970-5234
tianjie.jing@confuciusedmonton.ca

Visiting Teacher
Jinjin Du (Jelly)
780-970-5234
jinjin.du@confuciusedmonton.ca

 

Visiting Teacher
Changyuan Ren (Tony)
780-970-5234
yishan.sun@confuciusedmonton.ca

ChineseTeacher
Joanna Chang
780-970-5233